As you know that, Google has announced back in December that, they will be discontinuing its Google+ Service for everyone but at that time they didn’t announce a fixed date to shut down this service. But now, Google has finally announced that they Google+ will shut down from April 2 and all of the user’s data will be deleted.
Also, Google also says that they will be starting to pull back this service from February and finally it will completely vanish on April 2. For that, Google has outlined a timeline on their new support page that when and which feature will be deleted from Google+. According to that schedule, the first action will be taken on February 4 from when, Google will block users to create any Google+ account, pages, community or events.
Also, the Google+ login functionality on different sites for comments will start removing itself from March 7. However, Google said that they will provide some additional tool to the Google+ Community moderators/owners in March to let them download their data which include author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community. As on April 2, Google+ will be taken offline and all of the user data will be deleted permanently. However, G Suite users can access their Google+ account even after April 2 for few weeks and can download their data back in their system.
According to Google, the reason behind the discontinuation of this service is due to “low usage” and the “challenges involved with maintaining a successful product that meets… expectations.” and so they finally plan to shut down this service. So, you are advised to download your data until March 2019 so that you don’t lose any of your data.
For the latest tech news and updates Install TechnoCodex App and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+. Also, if you like our efforts, consider sharing this story with your friends, this will encourage us to bring more exciting updates for you.