jitesh sharma: India vs Sri Lanka T20 Series: What you need to know about Jitesh Sharma, who replaced Sanju Samson


The BCCI confirmed on Thursday that Sanju Samson has been ruled out of the remainder of the T20I series against Sri Lanka on the advice of the board’s medical team. The cricket board has called up Vidarbha wicketkeeper-batter Jitesh Sharma to replace Samson. This provides Jitesh with an opportunity to improve his chances of making the Indian Cricket Team’s playing eleven.

Sanju Samson injured his left knee while attempting to field a ball near the boundary ropes during the first T20I at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Tuesday.

“He was taken for scans and a specialist’s opinion this afternoon in Mumbai by the BCCI medical team and has been advised rest and rehabilitation,” the BCCI said in a statement.

“The all-India senior selection committee has named Jitesh Sharma as replacement for Sanju Samson.”

Jitesh Sharma’s cricket journey so far

Like many budding and current stars of the Indian cricket team, Jitesh Sharma managed to catch the attention of selectors due to his IPL exploits, which included a stint with the Punjab Kings. He scored a 17-ball 26 against the Chennai Super Kings after making his debut. He has represented Punjab Kings in 12 games and has amassed 234 runs from 10 innings, with a 34-ball 44 against Delhi Capitals being his highest score. With two of India’s other wicketkeepers, Rishabh Pant and KL Rahul, out of the T20 squad, India has only got one other wicketkeeper-batter: Ishan Kishan. This created the opportunity for Jitesh, who can easily bat at the No. 5 and No. 6 positions.

Born on October 22, 1993, Jitesh Sharma plays for Vidarbha, and he made his List A debut on February 27, 2014, for Vidarbha in the 2013–14 Vijay Hazare Trophy. His Ranji Trophy debut came in the next season. Sharma was the leading run-scorer for Vidarbha in the 2018–19 Vijay Hazare Trophy, with 298 runs in seven matches. In last year’s IPL auction in February 2022, Sharma was bought by the Punjab Kings.

India play the second T20I against Sri Lanka in Pune on Thursday.
The hosts lead the three-match series 1-0 following their narrow two-run win in the opener.

India’s updated squad for Sri Lanka T20Is:
Hardik Pandya (Captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.



Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechnoCodex is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a comment