After a year of wait and testing, WhatsApp on Friday has finally started rolling out the ‘Delete for Everyone’ for Android and iOS user both. This new features allows you to recall and delete the wrongly sent messages either a group or an individual chat.
The feature works for GIFs, texts, images, voice messages, locations, stickers (in future), contact cards, quoted messages and status replies. But there are some limitations; the sent message can only be recall within a 7 minuts time frame after which the message cannot be deleted. And both the recipient and sender should be on the same updated version of WhatsApp to get the feature working.
How to use
Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete, now Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu, you can select multiple messages at once, now Tap Delete > Delete for Everyone.
When you delete the unintended message, WhatsApp sends a fake copy of the message to the recipient. When the recipient receives that copy, their device won’t show the notification, nor will it save it in his chat history, The revoked or recalled messages will also be deleted in the notifications center on iOS. On Android, this message will be replaced with “This message was deleted for everyone”. For quoted messages. Further more According to the WhatsApp FAQ page, after deleting a successfully send text, the message will be replaced with the “This message was deleted” in recipients phone.
This new feature will reach most devices gradually. However, iOS users might start receiving it earlier than others.